Boise State Topples Ducks 38-28 in Las Vegas Bowl

Oregon Football’s 2017 campaign came to an end with a disappointing 38-28 defeat at the hands of Boise State in the Las Vegas Vegas Bowl on Saturday afternoon. The matchup was full of ripe storylines leading into the game with the two program’s previous bad blood and Mario Cristobal’s first game as head coach of the Ducks, but that didn’t stop Oregon from coming out flat. The Broncos would drive down the field and score a touchdown on their opening drive and would hold the lead throughout, dominating the first half on their way to a 24-0 advantage in the final minute of the second quarter. Chaos ensued, as the Ducks would tally two defensive touchdowns thanks to a Troy Dye 86-yard scoop-and-score that was followed a 100-yard pick-six from Tyree Robinson to make the score 24-14 heading into the half. Boise State would recapture the momentum on a touchdown drive to open the second half to extend their lead to 31-14. Though Oregon would make it 31-21 during the 4th quarter, Boise State stuck the dagger in the Ducks with another touchdown drive setup by one of Cedrick Wilson’s 10 catches. The senior receiver earned the bowl game’s MVP honors with his 221-yard and one touchdown performance. But perhaps most surprising was the Broncos defense. Led by Leighton Vander Esch’s 12 tackles, three of which were for a loss, the Ducks would limp to just 14 offensive points, and a season worst 47 rushing yards in the absence of Royce Freeman. The result once again cements Boise State’s status as a power team from outside the Power 5 conferences in another upset victory over a major program, while Oregon’s lackluster offensive output brings more questions around the program’s trajectory moving forward.


Ducks Out of Rhythm in Lackluster Las Vegas Bowl Loss (by Matt Tyra)

Boise State Further Cements Status in Another Resounding Bowl Victory (by Alex Castle)



Head Coach Bryan Harsin

Linebacker Leighton Vander Esch and Wide Receiver Cedrick Wilson

Quarterback Brett Rypien and Running Back Ryan Wolpin


Head Coach Mario Cristobal, Safety Tyree Robinson and Offensive Tackle Tyrell Crosby

Quarterback Justin Herbert

Linebacker Justin Hollins

Running Back Kani Benoit

Defensive Tackle Henry Mondeaux

Linebacker Lamar Winston Jr